Wonderful people, wonderful data

Hi all,

Just a quick note to say I haven’t forgotten about this blog of mine! After some lovely responses to my post Taming Monsters, I’ve realised I’m not alone in feeling all these crappy things during a PhD. Thanks to everyone who got in touch, it means a lot.

Since then I’ve decided to just get on with things, and I put out a plea on my university’s social media sites (see below!), and the intranet messages board, for people to catch me any kinds of spider they could lay their hands on.

The RVC's post on Facebook asking people for spiders!

The RVC’s post on Facebook asking people for spiders!

And the people of the RVC came up trumps! I was inundated with spiders of many varieties, but particularly lots of the European garden spider Araneus diadematus.

European garden spider, showing off the distinctive white cross on the abdomen

European garden spider, showing off the distinctive white cross on the abdomen

Saying hello!

Saying hello!

This one did some strange poops across my arena!

This one did some strange poops across my arena!

So since I’ve caught these fellas, I’ve been super busy filming them and gathering loads of lovely data! But soon I need to do some writing for my first year appraisal (eeek!) and my plan is to read some interesting spidery papers for that, and write my reviews and thoughts about them up on here. Sound good? Okay then! I’ll be writing soon.

Leave a Reply

