Regular Hours

I’ve been on my internship for almost three weeks now, and I have to say that working regular hours is marvellous.

As a PhD student, it can be difficult to work regular hours when you have the freedom and flexibility not to. I’ve had numerous attempts at trying to get to work and leave work at the same times each day, and every time I’ve failed because there’s that voice telling me in the back of my head that I don’t HAVE to be at work for 9am, I don’t HAVE to get out of bed just yet… I just didn’t have the determination to make it so! I often fall into the trap of thinking “I can just work from home today” and while there is the odd time that works really well, the majority of the time I get distracted with normal life stuff like cleaning, or going for a run.

So I’m hoping that this three month internship will kick me into good habits – I really love working normal hours, it’s something I’ve envied of my normal-job friends. It’s nice to come home and know that you’ve put in your time, and now it’s time to have a life and relax. Helps me sleep better, too, I think. Must try hard to keep this up when I go back into the dreaded PhD in January…

2 thoughts on “Regular Hours

Leave a Reply

